Difference between revisions of "Help:Moving a page"

From eLinux.org
Jump to: navigation, search
 
m (1 revision: Attempting latest help pages upload.)
 
(7 intermediate revisions by 4 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
 
{{PD Help Page}}
 
{{PD Help Page}}
  
'''Moving (renaming) a page''' means giving it another name. This is done by using "{{int:move}}" tab at the top. Then simply enter the new name and click 'Move Page'. Normally you would want to leave "Move associated talk page" option ticked.
+
'''Moving (renaming) a page''' means giving it another name. This is done by using the "{{lc:{{MediaWiki:move}}}}" [[Help:Navigation#Page Tabs|tab]] at the top. The tab is not visible if you are not logged in. Then simply enter the new name and click "{{MediaWiki:movepagebtn}}". Normally you would want to leave the "{{MediaWiki:movetalk}}" option ticked.
  
 
If you move page "A" to a new title "B", this operation will do the following:
 
If you move page "A" to a new title "B", this operation will do the following:
* Creates the new page "B", with contents from page "A"
+
* Renames the title of page "A" as "B"
* Replaces the contents of page "A" with ''Redirect'' to "B".
+
* Renames all the editing history of page "A" as of page "B" as well
* Moves all the editing history from page "A" so that it appears under "B"'s history tab.
+
* Creates a new page "A", whose content is a [[Help:Redirects|redirect]] to page "B"
 
<!--I think the above describes just the opposite to what actually happens in the database, I'm going to replace it with correct description: page is not actually moved in [[Page table]], it's simply given a new title-->
 
<!--I think the above describes just the opposite to what actually happens in the database, I'm going to replace it with correct description: page is not actually moved in [[Page table]], it's simply given a new title-->
  
The third point is important. By using the 'Move' feature, you also '''move the editing history''', which is desirable in most situations. The editing history allows people to see how the contents of the page were built up, and who contributed what. If you move contents around by copying and pasting (not using the move feature), you do not achieve this (see also [[Help:Tracking changes]]).
+
The second point is important. By using the "{{MediaWiki:move}}" feature, you also '''move the editing history''', which is desirable in most situations. The editing history allows people to see how the contents of the page were built up, and who contributed what. If you move contents around by copying and pasting (not using the move feature), you do not achieve this (see also [[Help:Tracking changes]]).
  
Because the move operation '''leaves behind a redirect''' (see [[Help:Redirects]]), it should not result in any broken links, however you might want to hunt down pages or other redirects which link in to the redirect, and change their text to link directly to the new title. The 'What links here' toolbox feature (bottom left) is useful when doing this.
+
Because the move operation '''leaves behind a redirect''' (see [[Help:Redirects]]), it should not result in any broken links, however you might want to hunt down pages or other redirects which link in to the redirect, and change their text to link directly to the new title. The "{{MediaWiki:whatlinkshere}}" feature, which can be used through the link in the {{MediaWiki:toolbox}} (at bottom of the [[Help:Navigation#Sidebar|sidebar]] on the left) is useful when doing this.
  
 
== Proposing a move ==
 
== Proposing a move ==
Deciding on a page title can be a difficult aspect of wiki organization, and one which can often provoke debates. If the move you have in mind is one which might cause upset or could be considered controversial, you should propose the move first. Do this by leaving a note to give your reasons on the [[Help:Talk pages|talk page]]. You might also establish a system for labelling the page itself, with a move proposal template, to make everybody aware of your intentions.
+
Deciding on a page title can be a difficult aspect of wiki organization, and one which can often provoke debates. If the move you have in mind is one which might cause upset or could be considered controversial, you should propose the move first. Do this by leaving a note to give your reasons on the [[Help:Talk pages|talk page]]. You might also establish a system for labeling the page itself, with a move proposal template, to make everybody aware of your intentions.
  
 
== Undo a move ==
 
== Undo a move ==
Line 21: Line 21:
 
The page title "B" will still be left behind, as a redirect from "B" to "A". Any user can remove the redirect and propose that the page be deleted. However the final deletion will require sysop privileges (see [[Help:Deleting a page]]).
 
The page title "B" will still be left behind, as a redirect from "B" to "A". Any user can remove the redirect and propose that the page be deleted. However the final deletion will require sysop privileges (see [[Help:Deleting a page]]).
  
{{Languages|Help:Moving a page}}
+
== Moving a page without creating a redirect ==
 +
Users with the ''suppressredirect'' [[Help:User rights|user right]] can optionally move a page without creating a redirect. This is particularly useful when undoing a move.
  
[[Category:Help|Moving a page]]
+
== See also ==
 +
* [[Help:Copying a page]]
 +
 
 +
{{Languages}}
 +
 
 +
[[Category:Help|{{PAGENAME}}]]

Latest revision as of 01:12, 21 January 2011

PD Important note: When you edit this page, you agree to release your contribution into the public domain. If you don't want this or can't do this because of license restrictions, please don't edit. This page is one of the Public Domain Help Pages, which can be freely copied into fresh wiki installations and/or distributed with MediaWiki software; see Help:Contents for an overview of all pages. See Project:PD help/Copying for instructions. PD


Moving (renaming) a page means giving it another name. This is done by using the "move" tab at the top. The tab is not visible if you are not logged in. Then simply enter the new name and click "Move page". Normally you would want to leave the "Move associated talk page" option ticked.

If you move page "A" to a new title "B", this operation will do the following:

  • Renames the title of page "A" as "B"
  • Renames all the editing history of page "A" as of page "B" as well
  • Creates a new page "A", whose content is a redirect to page "B"

The second point is important. By using the "Move" feature, you also move the editing history, which is desirable in most situations. The editing history allows people to see how the contents of the page were built up, and who contributed what. If you move contents around by copying and pasting (not using the move feature), you do not achieve this (see also Help:Tracking changes).

Because the move operation leaves behind a redirect (see Help:Redirects), it should not result in any broken links, however you might want to hunt down pages or other redirects which link in to the redirect, and change their text to link directly to the new title. The "What links here" feature, which can be used through the link in the Tools (at bottom of the sidebar on the left) is useful when doing this.

Proposing a move

Deciding on a page title can be a difficult aspect of wiki organization, and one which can often provoke debates. If the move you have in mind is one which might cause upset or could be considered controversial, you should propose the move first. Do this by leaving a note to give your reasons on the talk page. You might also establish a system for labeling the page itself, with a move proposal template, to make everybody aware of your intentions.

Undo a move

As with all wiki editing, a move operation can be reversed (by any user). To reverse a move operation, simply move the page back, e.g. move page "B" back to "A".

The page title "B" will still be left behind, as a redirect from "B" to "A". Any user can remove the redirect and propose that the page be deleted. However the final deletion will require sysop privileges (see Help:Deleting a page).

Moving a page without creating a redirect

Users with the suppressredirect user right can optionally move a page without creating a redirect. This is particularly useful when undoing a move.

See also

Language: English