Help:RevisionDelete

From eLinux.org
Revision as of 04:33, 3 December 2009 by Wmat (Talk | contribs) (1 revision)

Jump to: navigation, search

Hiding individual lines from a page history or log is now possible, due to the newly created RevisionDelete functionality added to the MediaWiki core codebase. The revision deletion feature is available when a usergroup is given the deleterevision permission in the MediaWiki configuration. The function has the ability to show/hide the revision itself, the user who made the edit or their edit summary from view, or any combination of those three.

Tools.svg Tip for wiki admins: Details on enabling revision deletion on a MediaWiki installation can be found at RevisionDelete#Enabling

When enabled on an installation and viewed by a user with the appropriate permissions, every page revision and log entry has a small (show/hide) button displayed next to it, as shown in the normal revision and protection log entry below.

  • (cur) (prev) (show/hide) 00:00, 1 Jan 1970 WikiUser (talk | contribs | block) (X bytes) (Edit summary)</span> (undo)
  • (show/hide) 00:00, 1 Jan 1970 WikiUser (talk | contribs | block) protected "Page" [edit=sysop] (indefinite) [move=sysop] (indefinite) ‎ (Log summary) (hist | change)
  • When a revision or log entry is hidden from view in its entirety, it is displayed like that shown below, with the elements hidden from view stricken and greyed out. Once a revision is hidden, the contents of the revision (if hidden), cannot be viewed by any usergroup without the deleterevision right. Trying to compare the revision with other revisions or access its &oldid= page will result in an error stating that the revision has been removed from the public archives. Similarly, trying to search for a hidden log entry by the users involved, when they have been hidden, will turn up no results.

  • (cur) (prev) (show/hide) 00:00, 1 Jan 1970 (username removed) (comment removed) [deleted]
  • (show/hide) 00:00, 1 Jan 1970 (username removed) (log action removed) (comment removed)
  • NOTE: Revision deletion remains applied to a page even when deleted. If a page is undeleted revisions that were previously hidden with RevisionDelete will remain hidden to the public.

    Hiding a revision

    To show/hide a revision, click the small (show/hide) button next to the relevant revision or log entry that you wish to show/hide. Depending on your permissions, there may be between 3 and 4 different options to choose from:

    • show/hide revision text
    • show/hide edit comment
    • show/hide editor's username/IP
    • Apply these restrictions to Sysops and lock this interface (only available to users with the suppressrevision right)

    Tick the checkboxes next to each of the items that you wish to apply to the selected and then provide an informative summary in the "Log comment field". Once this information has been filled in, click the "Apply to selected revision" button to submit the information. If this has been done correctly, Revision visibility successfully set should be displayed on your screen.

    Unhiding a revision

    To unshow/hide a revision, click the (show/hide) button for the revision or log entry and simply untick all the boxes, provide your summary and click the "Apply to the selected revision" button. Success should be marked by the display of the Revision visibility successfully set message.

    Changing the visibility settings

    This is quite similar to unhiding a revision; click the (show/hide) button and tick/untick the options that you wish to modify and click the apply button.

    Log entries

    Normally, hiding a revision or page history item will product a log message in the public deletion log or the private supression log (if "Apply these restrictions to Sysops and lock this interface" is ticked). Log entries created in the public deletion log look like those displayed below for page revision and log entries visibilities respectively.

  • (show/hide) 00:00, 1 Jan 1970 WikiUser (talk | contribs | block) changed revision visibility of Page(hid content, edit summary, username for 1 revision: Log summary) (diff | change visibility)
  • (show/hide) 00:00, 1 Jan 1970 WikiUser (talk | contribs | block) changed event visibility of (Protection log) ‎ (hid content, edit summary, username for 1 event: Log summary) (change visibility)
  • The (show/hide) link displayed leads to the visibility settings for that particular log entry, while the (change visibility) button leads to the visibility settings for the page effected by that particular log entry.